Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor
The auditor of Minnesota state government


Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor Menu

Legislative Audit Commission


January 8, 2003

The Legislative Audit Commission meeting was called to order by Senator Ann H. Rest, Chair, at 2:15 PM in Room 15, State Capitol. Senator Rest indicated the purpose of the meeting was to review the program evaluation report on State-Funded Trails for Motorized Recreation.

Members and other Legislators present:

Senator William Belanger Representative Tony Cornish
Senator Lyle Koenen Representative David Dill
Senator Ann H. Rest Representative Tom Hackbarth
Senator Claire Robling Representative Alice Hausman
Senator West Skoglund Representative Mark Holsten
Representative Phyllis Kahn
Representative Dan Larson

Senator Rest recognized Roger Brooks, Deputy Legislative Auditor for Program Evaluation. Mr. Brooks reminded members of other reports that would be released in the near future. He gave a summary of issues leading to the selection of this particular study, and reviewed several of the key findings.

Mr. Brooks introduced John Patterson, project manager, Jan Sandberg and David Chein, evaluation specialists who worked on the study. Mr. Patterson reviewed the questions addressed in the study, methods used in conducting the research and reviewed the study's findings and recommendations. He answered questions from members. There was discussion by members concerning the number of miles of designated trails for snowmobiles versus off-road vehicles and enforcement difficulties.

Senator Rest recognized Brad Moore, Acting Commissioner for the Department of Natural Resources, and Dennis Asmussen, Director of the Trails and Waterways Unit. Commissioner Moore noted that the study was well done and thorough and would be useful, along with the Motorized Task Force report.

Mr. Asmussen summarized the response contained in the report and answered questions from members.

Senator Rest recognized James Nobles, Legislative Auditor. Mr. Nobles welcomed new members and thanked them for attending the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 3:40 PM.

Senator Ann H. Rest, Chair

Jean Barnhill, Recording Secretary


Office of the Legislative Auditor ♦ Room 140, 658 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55155