Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor
The auditor of Minnesota state government


Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor Menu

Legislative Audit Commission


January 14, 1999

The meeting of the Legislative Audit Commission was called to order by Representative Dan McElroy on Thursday, January 14, 1999 at 4:05 p.m. in Room 316, State Capitol.

Members Present:

Representative Mindy Greiling    Senator Bill Belanger
Representative Dan McElroy Senator Pat Pariseau
Senator Deanna Wiener

Members Not Present:

Representative Ron Abrams Senator Sheila Kiscaden
Representative Dave Bishop Senator David Knutson
Representative Lynda Boudreau   Senator Keith Langseth
Representative Kris Hasskamp Senator James Metzen
Representative Mark Holsten Senator Thomas Neuville
Representative Philip Krinkie Senator Ember Reichgott Junge
Representative Mary Jo McGuire Senator Allan Spear
Representative Thomas Pugh Representative Tim Pawlenty
Representative Ann H. Rest Representative Steve Sviggum
Representative Jim Rhodes Representative Kathy Tingelstad


Representative McElroy indicated the purpose of the meeting was to release and discuss the program evaluation report on the Metropolitan Mosquito Control District and recognized Roger Brooks, Deputy Legislative Auditor for Program Evaluation. Mr. Brooks reviewed the reasons why this topic had been selected for study by the commission and introduced Susan Von Mosch, project manager, and other evaluation specialists who had worked on the study, Carrie Meyerhoff and Katherine Seiden.

Senator Wiener joined the meeting and assumed the Chair. She recognized Ms. Von Mosch.

Ms. Von Mosch reviewed the issues reviewed in the study and why they were studied. She also gave an overview of the methods used in conducting the study, findings, conclusions, and recommendations contained in the report. She and project members answered questions from members.

Senator Wiener recognized Joseph Sanzone, Director of the Metropolitan Mosquito Control District. Mr. Sanzone reviewed his agency's comments concerning the report and answered questions from members.

Senator Wiener recognized Randy Johnson, member of the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners, recently elected to chair the Metropolitan Mosquito Control District Board of Directors. Mr. Johnson indicated that the MMCD Board recognizes the need to do a better job of evaluating the effectiveness of its control programs and to improve its policies on control activities.

The meeting adjourned at 5:10 PM.

Senator Deanna Wiener, Chair

Jean Barnhill, Acting Recording Secretary


Office of the Legislative Auditor ♦ Room 140, 658 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55155