Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor
The auditor of Minnesota state government


Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor Menu

Legislative Audit Commission


March 2, 2005

Members Present:

Representative Lyndon Carlson Senator Sheila Kiscaden
Representative Sondra Erickson    Senator James Metzen
Representative Rick Hansen Senator Thomas Neuville
Representative Connie Ruth Senator Ann Rest
Representative Torrey Westrom Senator Clair Robling
Representative Tim Wilkin

Members Absent:

Senator Richard Cohen    Senator David Hann
Senator Warren Limmer

Members Excused:

Representative Ruth Johnson    Representative Aaron Peterson

Other Legislators Present:

Representative Jeff Johnson

Representative Tim Wilkin, Chair of the Legislative Audit Commission, called the meeting to order at 2:45 PM. He indicated that the primary purpose of the meeting was to elect new officers of the commission as required by law. Representative Wilkin thanked Senator Rest, Vice Chair of the commission, and Mr. Jim Nobles, Legislative Auditor, for their assistance during his years as chair.

Senator Metzen nominated Senator Rest to be commission chair for 2005 and 2006. Senator Rest was elected unanimously by a voice vote, and she assumed the chair. Representative Erickson nominated Representative Wilkin to be commission chair for 2005 and 2006, and he was elected unanimously by a voice vote.

Senator Rest appointed Senator Kiscaden as topic selection subcommittee chair, and announced that the following members would also serve: Senator Robling, Senator Rest, Representative Wilkin, Representative Erickson, and Representative Hansen. Senator Kiscaden will set up subcommittee meetings in the next few weeks in order to accomplish needed work so as to make timely recommendations to the full LAC for program evaluations that will be scheduled for release during the 2006 legislative session.

Senator Rest recognized Mr. Nobles and asked that he discuss the Updates recently sent to legislators and the memo he sent to LAC members regarding the impact of budget cuts on the Office of the Legislative Auditor (OLA).

Mr. Nobles thanked Senator Rest for her willingness to again chair the Legislative Audit Commission and Representative Wilkin for his work during his term as chair. He also introduced Ms. Claudia Gudvangen, Deputy Legislative Auditor for the Financial Audit Division, and other Legislative Audit staff members.

Mr. Nobles indicated that the Updates were designed to show legislators what impact certain audits and evaluations have had, and where additional action is needed. He indicated the memo on OLA’s budget situation was to inform the commission members how OLA has adjusted to recent budget cuts and what impact further cuts would have on the ability of the office to fulfill its responsibilities.

Chair Rest inquired as to the impact of Program Evaluation Division Deputy Legislative Auditor, Roger Brooks’ retirement; Mr. Nobles indicated he and other program evaluation staff currently share the position’s responsibilities.

With no further business, Senator Rest adjourned the meeting at 3:05 PM.

Senator Ann Rest, Chair

Barbara Wing, Acting Recording Secretary


Office of the Legislative Auditor ♦ Room 140, 658 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55155