Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor
The auditor of Minnesota state government


Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor Menu

Legislative Audit Commission
Topic Selection Subcommittee


March 10, 2004

The Topic Selection Subcommittee of the Legislative Audit Commission meeting was called to order by Representative Tim Wilkin, Chair, at 6:00 P.M. in Room 400 South, State Office Building.

Subcommittee members present:

Representative Sondra Erickson    Senator Sheila Kiscaden
Representative Aaron Peterson Senator Ann H. Rest
Representative Tim Wilkin Senator Yvonne Prettner Solon

Other LAC members present: Senator Jim Vickerman

Representative Wilkin recognized James Nobles, Legislative Auditor. Mr. Nobles indicated the purpose of the meeting was to review the list of 42 possible topics and select approximately 12 topics for which Program Evaluation Division staff would develop background papers and conduct an interest survey of all legislators. Mr. Nobles reviewed several of the topics and the reasons they were suggested for study.

Members discussed the list and reasons why topics should or should not be included in the survey and the possible scope of several of the topics.

Topics to be included in the survey of legislators are: MnDOT land appraisal and acquisition process, energy conservation improvement program, gambling oversight and regulation, Minnesota adoption services, nursing home inspections, Minnesota Historical Society, immigrants and public assistance programs, child care assistance rates, workforce centers, water quality monitoring and remediation, sex-offender programs, Metropolitan Radio Board, agricultural diversification, and ethanol programs.

The meeting adjourned at 6:45 P.M.

Representative Tim Wilkin, Chair

Jean Barnhill, Recording Secretary



Office of the Legislative Auditor ♦ Room 140, 658 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55155