Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor
The auditor of Minnesota state government


Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor Menu

Legislative Audit Commission

Topic Selection Subcommittee


March 13, 1998

The meeting of the Topic Selection Subcommittee was called to order by Senator Deanna Wiener on Friday, March 13, 1998 at 8:45 a.m. in room 125 State Capitol.

Members present:

Representative Lynda Boudreau    Senator Sheila Kiscaden
Representative Mindy Greiling Senator Deanna Wiener
Representative Dan McElroy
Representative Mary Jo McGuire

Members not present:

Senator David Knutson    Senator Allan Spear

Senator Wiener recognized Roger Brooks, Deputy Legislative Auditor for Program Evaluation. Mr. Brooks reviewed the topic selection criteria developed a number of years ago and presented a list of 47 possible topics. He asked that members narrow the list down to 12 topics. He indicated that staff would then survey the entire Legislature to determine the level of interest in the various topics.

Representative Mary Murphy joined the meeting and was recognized by Senator Wiener. Representative Murphy indicated that she was at the meeting as Chair of the House Judiciary Finance Committee and asked that members consider the topic of juvenile out-of-home placements.

The following thirteen topics were approved as finalists and will be included in the legislative survey: 1) prison population predictions; 2) a criminal justice system study that would look at how it is organized, the types of programs funded; and probation funding in Community Corrections Act counties; 3) juvenile residential out-of-home placement; 4) day care regulation; 5) chemical dependency programs 6) charter schools; 7) regulatory boards for licensed occupations; 8) amateur sports; 9) state building code; 10) state aids for public pension plans; 11) feed lot regulation; 12) Metropolitan Mosquito Control District; and 13) state park management.

The meeting adjourned at 9:50 a.m.

Senator Deanna Wiener, Chair

Jean Barnhill, Recording Secretary



Office of the Legislative Auditor ♦ Room 140, 658 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55155