Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor
The auditor of Minnesota state government


Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor Menu

Legislative Audit Commission
Topic Selection Subcommittee


March 26, 2012

Members Present:Members Absent:
Senator Roger Reinert, Chair Senator Mike Parry  
Representative Sondra Erickson     
Representative Rick Hansen   


The meeting of the Topic Selection Subcommittee of the Legislative Audit Commission was called to order by Senator Roger Reinert, Chair, at 9:04 a.m.

Senator Reinert asked Jim Nobles from the Office of the Legislative Auditor (OLA) to give a review of the topic selection process. Mr. Nobles explained that the subcommittee had started with 90 topics and then narrowed them down to a list of 14. All legislators were polled for their opinions on which of the topics they would like to have evaluated by OLA. Mr. Nobles reminded the subcommittee that balance must be considered since some areas have more than one topic ranking high on the survey results. For example, there were two topics under both the environmental and human services categories. Mr. Nobles said that OLA could handle 6 – 8 topics since it still had two evaluations in progress.

Senator Reinert asked the members to recommend their top choices for topics. Representative Hansen recommended the Minnesota Petrofund as a special review instead of an evaluation. After some discussion, Representative Erickson moved to recommend to the full commission the following list of topics:

Conservation Easements
Law Enforcement Databases
Medical Assistance Payment Rates for Dental Services
Special Education
State-Operated Services
School Trust Lands
Environmental Regulation through Administrative Rulemaking (Mr. Nobles suggested setting this topic aside until after the session to see if it is still relevant.)
Minnesota Petrofund (as a special review)

The motion prevailed. With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:25 a.m.

Senator Roger Reinert, Chair

Shelly Watterud, Recording Secretary



Office of the Legislative Auditor ♦ Room 140, 658 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55155