Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor
The auditor of Minnesota state government


Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor Menu

Legislative Audit Commission


March 29, 2001

The meeting of the Legislative Audit Commission was called to order by Representative Dan McElroy on Thursday, March 29, 2001 at 9:15 A.M. in Room 316, State Capitol.

Members Present:

Senator William Belanger, Jr.    Representative Ruth Johnson
Senator Dave Johnson Representative Dan Larson
Senator Ann H. Rest Representative Dan McElroy
Senator Claire Robling Representative Michelle Rifenberg
Senator Jim Vickerman
Senator Deanna Wiener

Members Excused:

Senator Sheila Kiscaden    Representative Steve Dehler
Senator Thomas Neuville Representative Peggy Leppik
Representative Mary Jo McGuire
Representative Wes Skoglund

Senator Wiener nominated Senator Rest for the office of Chair of the Legislative Audit Commission. There being no other nominations, she moved that nominations be closed and that Senator Rest be elected as Chair. The motion carried unanimously. Senator Rest assumed the chair.

Representative Rifenberg nominated Representative McElroy for Vice-Chair. There being no further nominations, she moved the nominations be closed and that Representative McElroy be elected as Vice-Chair. The motion carried unanimously.

Representative McElroy nominated Senator Wiener for Secretary. There be no further nominations, he moved the nominations be losed and that Senator Wiener be elected as Secretary. The motion carried unanimously.

Senator Rest recognized James Nobles, Legislative Auditor. Mr. Nobles thanked Representative McElroy for having served as Chair, and welcomed Senator Rest back to the commission.

Senator Rest recognized Roger Brooks, Deputy Legislative Auditor for Program Evaluation. Mr. Brooks indicated that a letter will be sent to all legislative committees, asking for topic ideas.

Senator Rest named the members of the Topic Selection Subcommittee. They are: Senator Rest, Senator Johnson, Senator Kiscaden, Representative McElroy, Representative Skoglund and Representative Rifenberg.

Mr. Brooks indicated the office had originally planned to release the program evaluation report on a study of the state archeaologist at a commission meeting on April 9, but because an earlier release is desired, it will be mailed to members.

The meeting adjourned at 9:25 a.m.

Senator Ann H. Rest, Chair

Jean Barnhill, Recording Secretary


Office of the Legislative Auditor ♦ Room 140, 658 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55155