Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor
The auditor of Minnesota state government


Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor Menu

Topic Selection Subcommittee
Legislative Audit Commission


April 11, 2001

The meeting of the Topic Selection Subcommittee of the Legislative Audit Commission was called to order by Senator Ann H. Rest on Wednesday, April 11, 2001 at 8:15 A.M. in Room 125, State Capitol.

Members Present:

Senator Sheila Kiscaden Representative Michelle Rifenberg
Senator Ann H. Rest Representative Wes Skoglund

Members Excused:

Senator Dave Johnson Representative Dan McElroy

Senator Rest indicated the purpose of the meeting was to review the list of possible topics for study by the Program Evaluation Division. She recognized Roger Brooks, Deputy Legislative Auditor for Program Evaluation.

Mr. Brooks suggested members select approximately 12 studies to be included in a survey of all legislators. He indicated staff would prepare background papers on each topic for the next meeting of the subcommittee, at which time members would review the survey results and select five or six topics to recommend to the full commission for study.

Members discussed the suggested topics and selected the following topics for inclusion on the legislative survey: class size; teacher recruitment and retention; impact of public employee pension policy on employee retention; health insurance for state employees; state printer; Pollution Control Agency; recycling; DNR Enforcement Division; extended jurisdiction juveniles; welfare programs; and unemployment insurance.

Senator Rest indicated the Best Practices Advisory Council recently met and revised the list of recommended topics. The commission had previously approved a best practices review of citizen input. The Advisory Council unanimously agreed that this topic should be removed from the list and recommended the commission approve a best practices review of information systems management by local units of government.

The meeting adjourned at 9:35 a.m.

Senator Ann H. Rest, Chair

Jean Barnhill, Recording Secretary



Office of the Legislative Auditor ♦ Room 140, 658 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55155