Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor
The auditor of Minnesota state government


Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor Menu

Legislative Audit Commission
Topic Selection Subcommittee


April 15, 2003

Members present:

Representative Sondra Erickson    Senator Sheila Kiscaden
Representative Aaron Peterson Senator Yvonne Prettner Solon
Representative Tim Wilkin

Member absent:    Senator Ann Rest

The meeting of the Topic Selection Subcommittee of the Legislative Audit Commission was called to order by Representative Tim Wilkin, Chair, at 3:40 P.M. The purpose of the meeting was to select topics for 1) preparation of background papers, and 2) inclusion in a survey of Minnesota’s legislators.

Chair Wilkin recognized Jim Nobles, Legislative Auditor, who gave background information on the topic selection process; Mr. Nobles then indicated the subcommittee should try to narrow the list of topics presented (29) to about 12.

Mr. Nobles introduced Mr. Joel Alter, who was asked to assist at the meeting in Roger Brooks’ absence. Mr. Alter gave a brief discussion on each topic.

After discussion regarding the topics, members proceeded to choose the following for the Program Evaluation Division to begin work on background papers, in addition to surveying the full Legislature for input: DHS Waivered Services, Consumer Protection, Faculty and Staff Compensation in Higher Education, Government Use of Technology (combination of three topics, i.e., Integration of Technology, Rural Telecommunications, and Minnesota E-Government), Outstate Airports, Tourism Promotion, Costs of Lake Mille Lacs Regulation, Nursing Home Inspections, Emergency Response Preparedness, DNR Enforcement Division, CriMNet, and No Child Left Behind.

Mr. Nobles said he would also be speaking with Senator Rest to obtain her preferences for topic selection. He indicated that background papers would be presented to subcommittee members in approximately two weeks.

Having no further business, Chair Wilkin adjourned the meeting at 4:40 P.M.

Representative Tim Wilkin, Chair

Barbara Wing, Acting Recording Secretary



Office of the Legislative Auditor ♦ Room 140, 658 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55155