Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor
The auditor of Minnesota state government


Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor Menu

Legislative Audit Commission


April 20, 2005

Members Present:

Representative Lyndon Carlson Senator David Hann
Representative Rick Hansen Senator Warren Limmer
Representative Ruth Johnson Senator James Metzen
Representative Aaron Peterson Senator Thomas Neuville
  Senator Ann Rest

Members Absent:

Representative Sondra Erickson Senator Richard Cohen
Representative Connie Ruth Senator Sheila Kiscaden
Representative Torrey Westrom Senator Clair Robling
Representative Tim Wilkin

Other Legislators Present:

Representative Jim Davnie Senator Leo Foley

Senator Ann Rest, Chair, called the meeting of the Legislative Audit Commission to order at 1:10 p.m. in Room 107 of the State Capitol. The purpose of the meeting was two-fold: 1) to review the Financial Audit Division’s report on the Department of Public Safety’s Security Audit: Web-based Motor Vehicle Registration Renewal System; and 2) to approve program evaluation topics recommended by the Commission’s Topic Selection Subcommittee.

Chair Rest introduced Jim Nobles, Legislative Auditor. Mr. Nobles expressed the importance of technology in business and government agencies, and stated that, along with the rapid growth in technology, comes continued security risks in protecting private data. He noted the Financial Audit Division has issued several reports in recent years that pointed to security weaknesses.

Mr. Nobles acknowledged Chris Buse, Legislative Audit Information Technology Audit Manager, who managed the audit of the web-based motor vehicle registration system. Mr. Buse introduced his audit team—Mark Mathison, John Kelcher, Eric Wion, and Neal Dawson—and answered several questions raised by legislators.

Chair Rest invited Department of Public Safety personnel to come forward, including Commissioner Michael Campion, Deputy Commissioner Mary Ellison, and the Director of Driver and Vehicle Services, Patricia McCormack. The agency representatives answered questions regarding the audit.

Chair Rest thanked the Department of Public Safety, Mr. Buse, and Mr. Nobles for their work on behalf of serving the State of Minnesota.

The focus of the meeting switched to topic selection. Chair Rest gave a report from Senator Kiscaden, chair of the LAC Topic Selection Subcommittee, indicating that on April 19, 2005, seven studies were unanimously approved, and an eighth study on transportation topic was recommended for approval.

Representative Hansen made a motion to adopt tax compliance, child support enforcement, substance abuse treatment programs, liquor regulation, pesticide management, school district integration revenue, and public assistance for non-citizens; a voice vote was taken and the motion prevailed. Mr. Nobles stated evaluation staff will immediately begin work on the first six topics, with work starting later in the year on the economic impacts of non-citizens.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

Senator Ann H. Rest, Chair

Barbara Wing, Acting Recording Secretary


Office of the Legislative Auditor ♦ Room 140, 658 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55155