Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor
The auditor of Minnesota state government


Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor Menu

Legislative Audit Commission Meeting


May 3, 2011

Members Present:

Representative Michael Beard Senator Mike Parry
Representative Sondra Erickson Senator Roger Reinert
Representative Rick Hansen Senator Ann H. Rest
Representative Mary Liz Holberg Senator Claire Robling
Representative Phyllis Kahn
Representative Steve Simon

Members Absent:

Senator David Hann
Senator James Metzen

Representative Michael Beard, Chair, called the Legislative Audit Commission (LAC) meeting to order at 3:34 p.m. Representative Beard said the purpose of the meeting was to approve evaluation topics for 2011.

Representative Beard asked Jim Nobles, Legislative Auditor, to recap the topic selection process and meeting. Mr. Nobles said the process began back in March by requesting topic suggestions, which resulted in a “master list” of 64 topics. That list was reduced to 12 topics by the Topic Selection Subcommittee on April 7, 2011. OLA staff developed background papers on the 12 topics, and all legislators were surveyed to gauge their interest in the topics.

Senator Reinert briefly recapped the Topic Selection Subcommittee meeting to explain how they arrived at the proposed list of seven topics. Representative Simon asked about the size of the projects and OLA resources for completing them. Mr. Nobles explained each topic briefly in terms of the size of the project and also clarified that the topic on the enforcement of vehicle size and weight would be done only if time and resources were available.

Senator Reinert moved the subcommittee’s motion of the following list of topics to be approved:

Accountability for Legacy Funds
Fiscal Note Process
Child Protection Screening
Consolidation of Local Governments
Helping Communities Recover from Disasters
University of Minnesota Facilities Management
Enforcement of Vehicle Size and Weight Restrictions (as a secondary topic)

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4;26 p.m.

Representative Michael Beard, Chair

Shelly Watterud, Recording Secretary


Office of the Legislative Auditor ♦ Room 140, 658 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55155