Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor
The auditor of Minnesota state government


Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor Menu

Legislative Audit Commission
Topic Selection Subcommittee


March 16, 2006

Members Present:

Representative Rick Hansen         Senator Ann Rest
Representative Tim Wilkin Senator Claire Robling
Senator Sheila Kiscaden  

Members Absent:

Representative Sondra Erickson

With the approval of Senator Claire Robling, Chair, who was delayed, the Topic Selection Subcommittee of the Legislative Audit Commission meeting was called to order by Senator Ann Rest at 8:15 a.m. in Room 224 of the State Capitol.  Senator Robling joined the meeting at 8:30 a.m.

Senator Rest indicated the purpose of the meeting was to review the 14 background papers prepared by the Program Evaluation Division for the most popular topics considered by the Legislature and to cut the list down to 6 to 8 evaluations.  She recognized James Nobles, Legislative Auditor.  Mr. Nobles explained the results of the survey and the information in the members’ packets. 

The topics with the background papers included:

  • Human Services Block Grants
  • Hospital Care for the Uninsured
  • MnCare and M.A. Eligibility Determinations
  • Design-Build Highway Construction
  • Prevailing Wages
  • JOBZ Program
  • Watershed Management
  • Financial Obligations to Former Public Employees
  • State Use of Nonprofit Organizations to Deliver Services
  • Department of Human Services’ Block Grants
  • Volunteer Firefighter Pension Plans
  • Prison Population Projections
  • Minnesota Partnership for Action Against Tobacco
  • Minnesota Historical Society

After a brief discussion of the topics and the legislative session beginning at 9:00 a.m., Senator Rest moved to have Human Services Administration and Watershed Management approved for evaluation and to resume the meeting to discuss the other 12 topics.  Motion prevailed. 

The meeting was adjourned at 9:00 a.m.

Senator Claire Robling, Chair

Mary Moser, Acting Recording Secretary



Office of the Legislative Auditor ♦ Room 140, 658 Cedar St., St. Paul, MN 55155